AND the award goes to……

Boys and Girls,

Did you know that there are several awards that are given out to mushers?

Each year, you can read about the awards and what a musher needs to do in order to win the award. That information is always listed in the Media Guide. (Look in the Press and Media tab found on the front page of our website.0

I am sure you are wondering who won the awards this year! I’ve copied the list of awards from our press release (also found in the Press and Media section of the website.) Let’s cheer for the mushers and congratulate them on winning the awards!

Lots of Tail Wags,


PenAir Spirit of Alaska Award- Presented by Danny Seybert (PenAir Chief Operating Officer) is a beautiful framed mask depicting the spirit of the “team”. This year’s recipient was Lance Mackey form Fairbanks Alaska. Mackey also received $500 credit for travel or freight.

GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award- Presented by Gary Samuelson (GCI Nome Alaska) to Dee Dee Jonrowe from Willow Alaska who was the first musher to arrive in Cripple Alaska. Dee Dee received $2,500 in gold nuggets and a beautiful trophy.

Millennium Hotel Anchorage Alaskan First To the Yukon Award- Presented by Brook McGrath (Millennium Alaska Food and Beverage manager) to Lance Mackey who was the first Musher to arrive in Ruby Alaska. While in Ruby, Mackey received a seven course meal. Tonight Mackey received an additional $5,000 in one dollar bills as the “after dinner mint” for his efforts.

Wells Fargo Bank Alaska Gold Coast Award- Presented by Loren Prosser (Wells Fargo Bering Sea Community Bank President) to Jeff King from Denali Alaska. King was the first musher to arrive in the Gold Coast community of Unalakleet. He was awarded a beautiful trophy and $2,500 in gold nuggets.

Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome Award- Cim Smyth from Big Lake Alaska was able to complete the trek from Safety to Nome in 2 hours and 11 minutes. He received $500 for his efforts.

2008 Iditarod Most Improved Musher Award- Was awarded to Warren Palfrey, from Yellow Knife Canada. Palfrey completed his first Iditarod in 2006, finishing in 60th position. He finished the 2008 Iditarod in 26th position.

Rookie of the Year- The Rookie of the Year Award has been sponsored by Jerry and Clara Austin of Nome Alaska since 1980. The 2008 Rookie of the Year was William Kleedehn from Carcross Canada. He received $1,500 and a trophy for his efforts.

Fred Meyer Sportsmanship Award- This award includes $1,000 in Fred Meyer Gift Cards and was awarded to Ray Redington Jr. from Wasilla Alaska.

Chevron Most Inspirational Musher Award- Jennifer Freking from Finland Minnesota received the honors which included a trophy and $1,000 worth of Chevron gas.

Golden Clipboard Award- The 2008 Golden Clipboard was awarded to the community of Nulato Alaska.

Golden Stethoscope Award- Awarded to the veterinarian deemed most helpful on the trail by the members of the Iditarod Official Finishers Club was awarded to Dr. Paul Nader D.V.M.

Alaska Airlines Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award- is based on specific criteria to determine who has best demonstrated outstanding dog care through out the Race while remaining competitive. The 2008 recipient was 4 time Iditarod Champion Jeff King. King received a lead crystal cup on an illuminated wooden base and two free round trip tickets to anywhere on the Alaska Airlines system.

The City of Nome Lolly Medley Golden Harness Award Winner- Originally presented by the late Lolly Medley, Wasilla harness maker and one of two women to run the second Iditarod in 1974. The award honors an outstanding lead dog, chosen by the mushers. This year’s recipient was Babe an 11 year old member of Ramey Smith’s team from Big Lake Alaska. Babe has completed eight Iditarods and led her team to a 3rd place finish in 2008. Ramy Smyth is the son of the late Lolly Medley.

Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award- Presented to the musher chosen by staff and officials as the person who most closely mimics “Herbie” in his/her attitude on the trail. This year’s recipient was William Kleedehn. He received a free freight allotment on Northern Air Cargo, $1,049 in cash and a trophy.

Wells Fargo Winner’s Purse Award- Was awarded to the 2008 Iditarod Champion, Lance Mackey. This year’s award was $69,000.

Anchorage Chrysler Dodge Official Truck Award- Was awarded to the 2008 Iditarod Champion, Lance Mackey. Mackey received a 2008 Dodge Ram Laramie “HEMI” 4/x/4 quad cab pick up.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.